This is what is written about Mt. Baw Baw. Having ridden it – or best to say having staggered up it with many stops along the way – I can agree wholeheartedly.

Ranked the second hardest climb in the world of cycling, this ride is sure to test your endurance. The ride itself has been classified as a Hors Category, the only one of its kind in Australia, and it’s not hard to see why with the steepest grade at Winch Corner reported at 20.6%.the second half of this climb is not for the faint of heart!

Another website said “A warning to recreational riders – this is a seriously challenging climb and one that should not be attempted unless climbs like Lake Mountain and Inverness Road can be completed without too many difficulties. Treat this climb with the respect that it deserves!

bawProfile

I was too scared to do the ride after all I read about this climb but it was closer to Melbourne (150 KM /100 miles) than Mt Hotham which was also a difficult climb.

 

P1000366I drove through some lovely roads and got to a very small village called Tangil Bren that was just under 2 miles from the start of the Mt. Baw Baw climb.

 

P1000368
Big Tree Creek

This is the official start. If I only really knew what was to come!

P1000369
Puff Puff

I was out of breath when I took this picture – half way up the climb – It does not do justice to the steepness behind me.

 

P1000373
Yes this is me.

Neither does this picture…

 

Eventually...
Eventually…

… I reached the top. Even my Garmin graph looked scary!

 

map_profile1

Scary because of the elevations shown on the above map. After Winch Corner it really ramps up!

 

The End
The End

Boy was I not happy to see this wall that most people use to take their famous “I climbed Baw Baw” shot. Someone asked me if I had cycled up! She said she had to engage into manual gear on her small car! I was manual all the time 🙂  I just could not believe I had done it!

P1000382

I went up to the restaurant for a coffee but had to rush as light was fading.. The views from this window was amazing.
P1000387

The lady from the “Admin Department” giving me the official stamp.

 

Official Stamp
Official Stamp

So now I have done 2 out of the 7 peaks. If I had time I could have done more but for the moment this is not to be 😦

But Hey, I climbed one of the toughest mountains in Australia. Michael Horan, of the Herald Sun wroteRanked the 2nd toughest climb in world cycling” .

Video of hill here:

Strava here:

 

 

